Workers in Minnesota may already know that the federal government, through the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), sets rules regarding worker overtime pay. However, what they may not know is that Minnesota statutes also address the concept of worker overtime pay.
Under Minnesota law, an employer cannot require a person to work more than 48 hours in a work week unless the employer pays the worker overtime pay for the extra hours. This compensation must be a minimum of 1.5 times the worker's regular pay. Alternatively, time off may be granted at the rate of 1.5 hours for each hour worked above the 48-hour threshold.
This statute is not violated if the worker's employment is part of a collective bargaining agreement under Section 7(b)(2) of the FLSA, or if the worker is a sugar beet hand laborer and their pay meets certain other requirements. In addition, employers in the health care field can also make certain arrangements for a longer work week without offering overtime pay and without violating Minnesota law. However, even these arrangements have limitations that protect workers.
Minnesota's overtime law does also not apply to motor vehicle salespersons or those in the automotive mechanics' industry. It also does not apply to those who construct on-farm silos and air carrier workers covered by title II of the Railway Labor Act.
It is important for workers in Minnesota to understand their rights to overtime. While informative, this post cannot guarantee that any one person will be eligible for overtime in any certain situation. Workers in Minnesota who believe they are entitled to overtime pay, and are not getting it, may want to consult with an employee rights attorney.