Just because an individual has quit their job voluntarily does not mean they are no longer entitled to the wages and commissions they have earned until that point. This is the law in Minnesota, regardless of whether the employee was fired, terminated or left their job voluntarily.
If the employee was involuntarily let go then their final wages and commissions are due either on separation or within 24 hours of the employee’s demand for them. If the employee has quit, the time limits vary a little. Generally, the remaining remunerations should be paid on the next scheduled payday. If the regularly scheduled payday is within the next five days of the last day of work, then an employer has until that day to make it. However, all wages and commissions must be paid within 20 days of the last day. If an employer does not pay in a timely fashion, employees have the right to demand their wages.
Minnesota employers can be penalized for not paying final wages. For up to 15 days, employees who have not been paid can collect the amount of their average daily earnings for every day that the employer is later in paying. They can also file a claim with the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry to report the fact that their employer has violated the law and that they have not received their final pay and commissions within the legal time period.
Many workers are not aware of their employee rights and may lose out on lawful claims as a result. However, state and federal laws exist to protect them even if their employer does not. it might be beneficial to consult an experienced attorney for help on how to get the compensation one deserves for doing their job properly.